Got a Twin? Me too (Part II)

I do have an identical twin. Ellie is considered to be one minute older, though that is altogether debatable since we were born in the early 80’s and my mom had a c-section. She was slightly over 5 pounds, while I was under 5pds.  My mom likes to reminisce about our tiny, but long fingers. I think we were deemed a miracle because Mom and Dad had 3 sons.

My mom told me a few years ago that my sister, Ellie and I took care of one another.  I think us taking care of one another somewhat hurt my mom’s feelings.  It, of course, was never intentional. Hell, I didn’t even know we were doing it.  So, if you are having twins or are a young twin beware of some sort of maternal neglect. I never had to worry about that with my Clint Eastwood father. He really is like the old gunslinger. That’s another place and time though.

Ellie and I are best friends, but a lot of resentment is born when we don’t see one another. I haven’t spoken to her in a week, and it basically sucks. I do notice that when I go to her house, she really takes care of me. “Would you like something to drink or eat?” We both love it when she cooks me dinner. I know, I know, I’m silly.

When I moved out of our parents’ house the final time (total of 2xs), it took 2 years for us to have a civil relationship. She recently told me that she was having separation anxiety, and that it was common in twins.  She got kind of scary depressed there for some time, but then again, I guess we both did.

I should refleTwin Girlsct on good/funny memories. Once when we were about 4, my mom took us to get our ears pierced. We knew something was wrong about 2 minutes into the drive because she was not driving in the direction of our preschool. She took us to the doctor’s office to have our ears stabbed. No wonder we were scared to death!  The doctor came in and we began to embarrass the hell out of my mom by saying to each other, “You go first. NO! You go first!”  We both walked out of that office earring-less.  Ha, sorry Mom, Game Over, You Lose!

It’s awesome being a twin. Though we’re definitely not as close, I can still read her thoughts, and feel what she feels.  I do believe we share a soul and clothes. I’m waiting on her to get sick of her new clothes. She wears them once or twice and their mine. I never had to buy clothes in high school.

Naturally, we have our competitive elements to us. She thinks I’m smarter and that I’m always right about everything. I told her the last time she said that that she was right.  Have to let her be right at some point, right?  I think she’s beautiful (she knows it) and flirts with significant others on purpose.  The funny thing is that neither one us work on fixing these insecurities. I’m not fashionable or socially presentable (most days), and she doesn’t read (of course she can-she has a psychology degree)

A large influence in my life with regards to Ellie is my thoughts. Or maybe the diction of my thoughts.  I say or think, “we,” “let’s,” and “us” A LOT!  I guess some things will stay with you forever. Thank God.

Leave a Reply

