Dress Shopping

Screaming BabyAh, the dreaded dress shopping journey. I like dresses, especially ones that I can re-wear. What I’m not a big fan of is bridal dresses or snobby bridal shops.  I know, I know, I shouldn’t be so closed-minded before I step foot into a shop, but word-of-mouth is, these women are snooty and snotty. Get them a tissue.

Anyhow, I’m going dress shopping tonight in Asheville, NC and I’m (obviously) not thrilled.  I’m a bride’s maid in one of my best friend’s weddings. I’m very excited about the wedding though. It’s an original, low-key ceremony. It’s just this dress thing puts my mind in shackles! Nothing ever fits my body. So, I have to purchase an expensive dress in a particular hue and then spend more money on shoes, accessories, and alterations. Plus, I’ll probably only wear this dress once.

I guess I shouldn’t be so negative. There are plenty of positive things about this shopping trip. I can find her a wedding gift. She’s registered at several stores, but I think I’m going to go a non-traditional route and get her some jewelry. . . maybe some silver religious jewelry. That would be perfect since she is going to be a missionary. She’s a great person.

Oh, dreaded dress shopping leave me be. I really do feel like this little girl. Clothes shopping brings out such the insecure baby in me. I won’t be afraid!  And NO, this isn’t a petty/vain post!

Leave a Reply

