Bass Fishing on a Warm Spring Day

Bass Fishing Tournaments North CarolinaToday after work I plan on going out to Lake Cherokee and doing a little fishing with my dad.  It’s a great de-stresser after such a long work week, even though it’s not over just yet.  I like to take off and clear my mind of worries.

So, luckily my dad’s a Dave Matthews Band fan.  We crank up our little boom box, that’s about 15 years old, and relax.  It’s the best feeling-                 to be with great company and in a Beautiful location!

It’s taken 23 years or so for my dad and I to become friends. I worried I’d never see the day since he’s almost 65 this year. That thought may be a little melodramatic, but life and death happens.
One day when I was 23, I watched him as he got ready to go fishing, and I asked if I could go with him.  It was the best question I’ve ever asked.  My dad’s a baby boomer, so it’s difficult for him to be emotional, and for me as well.  After the first few times of going out with him, he looked at me and began to ask personal questions.  Nothing too extreme, just father-daughter stuff.

Life is short, as clique as that is.  You have to overcome it, overpower it!  I know a lot of people are afraid of intimacy but it’s not scary at all. It just takes one question.

Leave a Reply

